Ted Thomas of Conway was appointed Chairman of the Arkansas Public Service Commission by Governor Asa Hutchinson in January 2015.

Ted Thomas has served as Chief Deputy Prosecuting Attorney for the 20th Judicial District, Administrative Law Judge at the Public Service Commission, Budget Director for Governor Mike Huckabee and in the Arkansas House of Representatives, where he served as Chairman of the State Agencies and Governmental Affairs Committee during his final term.

Ted Thomas received a Bachelor of Arts with High Honors in Political Science from the University of Arkansas in 1986 and a Juris Doctorate from the University Of Arkansas School Of Law in 1988. He is licensed to practice law before the United States Supreme Court, the Arkansas Supreme Court, the Unites States Courts of Appeal for the District of Columbia Circuit and the Eight Circuit and the United States District Courts for the Eastern and Western Districts of Arkansas.

Chairman Thomas previously served as president of the Organization of MISO states and currently serves on the Regional State Committee of the Southwest Power Pool. He also serves on the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Committee on Electricity.  Chairman Thomas was appointed to the Joint Federal-State Task Force on Electric Transmission established by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).

In 2021, Chairman Thomas was awarded the Ron Bell Advanced Energy Leadership Award by AAEA in recognition of outstanding contributions to the renewable power, efficiency and energy contracting industry.

Chairman Ted J. Thomas
  • Image for Press Releases/News Page
  • Image for Hot Topics Page
  • Image for Public Comments Page
  • Image for the Daily Filings Page
  • Image for EFS Pages
  • Image for Home Page
  • Image for link to Enery Eficiency of Arkansas
  • Image for link to Diversity Summit